Have yourself a yarny little Christmas…

Christmas5

Rachel Plachcinski writes: This month I am taking a short break from hooking #NCTyarns squares together in order to create #NCTChristmas decorations!

This gloriously simple pattern for crochet Christmas wreaths is courtesy of the Whiskers & Wool blog. All you need is dk yarn in your choice of colours, a crochet hook (I used a 3.5mm hook), 2in plastic rings (I ended up buying macrame rings from Amazon) and a yarn needle. You can, if you like, add Christmas ribbon and a needle and thread to your list.

The wreaths really are so easy to make; I can now knock one up in 15 minutes. My plan is to hand these out to family and friends, perhaps in place of Christmas cards or as part of a larger gift. I’m also thinking about selling them to fund a charity challenge I’ve signed up for in May next year.

In order to keep up the #NCTyarns colour theme, I ended up using two colours twisted together to create the wreath ‘ribbon’. However a single colour also looks pretty; this one reminds me of a Christmas rose:

Christmas2

My original plan was to thread yarn or ribbon through a gap to create the hanging cord, but after some experimentation I decided to stitch loops of Christmas ribbon to the back.

Whiskers & Wool also has a pattern for a snowflake on a ring. I’ve done a couple of these but I’m slower on these due to fiddling about with the picot edging.

Christmas3

The yarn on the right is white with a glitter thread; The one on the left  has tiny sequins dotted along its length. I also decided I’d like more points on my snowflake so I crocheted an extra 12 stitches around my ring to allow me two extra points.

Christmas4

I have really enjoyed playing with the colours for this – a mix of plain and glitter looks great.

Christmas1

And then, if crochet is still beyond you, you can always make pompoms to adorn your tree!

Christmas6

May Father Christmas bring you all the yarn you could possibly desire.

Have a very merry Christmas

Love from #NCTyarns

Leave a comment